Skip to Main Content

Somerset GP Training Hub and Primary Care Links: Resources for Paramedics and Ambulance Service Staff

Links and resources for Primary and Integrated Care NHS Staff in Somerset

Library Resources for Paramedics and Ambulance Service

Ask librarian for help

Please don't be worried about asking - I'm here to help, and I'm very happy to talk you through the evidence that's out there, how to find it, and what resources exist to help you analyse it!

If you'd like a Teams or Zoom meeting (or an email conversation, or even an old-fashioned phone call), please drop me an email - I have two NHS emails, which I check regularly: 

paula.younger@somersetft.nhs.uk

OR

paula.younger1@nhs.net

I'm typically around from 8.30am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday, but there is flexibility outside those times as well. And if I'm not around, the main library email is library@somersetft.nhs.uk

Finding the evidence - where do I begin?

Every year, millions of reports, white papers, and other documents (as well as multimedia items) are created - and when you're looking for evidence to back up your clinical decisions, or to support your CPD, or just for fun, where do you start? 

There are dozens (if not hundreds) of databases out there with details of who's written what, and where it's been published, and depending on your clinical specialty, where do you start? 

Where to Find Clinical Articles, Reports, and Other Evidence

Some of these resources are freely available; for others you will need an NHS OpenAthens username and password. 
Name of Resource Main Subject Coverage Notes
BMJ Best Practice General medicine, patient leaflets, calculators and drugs information for over 30 specialties
NHS OpenAthens and short registration required; App available; some professional bodies recognise time spent on the platform for CPD points
British Nursing Index Nursing, with a UK focus NHS OpenAthens or university login required - for NHS users, once logged into Athens, select "My Resources" and then "ProQuest"
Pubmed (MEDLINE plus other sources) General medicine The largest database of medical journals in the world;
freely accessible to all; some free/open access full text
CINAHL Nursing, Allied Health NHS OpenAthens or university login required 
PEDRO Physiotherapy Database accessible to all; details of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines
Google Scholar All subjects Not exactly a database, this Google site allows you to search
for journal articles, reports, and other documents. Some full text 
is freely available. It is possible to narrow searches down to particular journals, years, or domains (e.g. site:nhs.uk)
Cochrane Library All clinical specialties Systematic reviews on a range of topics with 3 options - brief, standard, and detailed. Free full text usually available. Includes protocols (systematic reviews that
are proposed). 
ERIC Education Full version requires a university login; condensed version 
available free of charge, some full text. 
Emcare Allied Health NHS OpenAthens or university login required - once logged in, select "My Resources" and then "Ovid". 
Embase General medicine, strong on medication  NHS OpenAthens or university login required - once logged in, select "My Resources" and then "Ovid"
Scopus Extensive science database; some crossover with MEDLINE and other clinical/medical databases Usually only available with university logins
PsycINFO (also known as APA PsycINFO) Psychiatry and Psychology 
NHS OpenAthens or university login required - for NHS users, once logged into Athens, select "My Resources" and then "ProQuest"
HMIC Health management and policy
NHS OpenAthens or university login required - for NHS users, once logged into Athens, select "My Resources" and then "Ovid"
Clinical Key  Medicine, nursing, general medicine Some clinical groups may have access to full text - check with the Librarian for more information or to request items not available to you in full text
TRIP Database All clinical specialties, includes detailed guidelines Condensed version free to all, Trip PRO accessible to most NHS staff in England via NHS networks in England with OpenAthens
OT Seeker Occupational Therapy Database is freely available; check with library on full text availability
Web of Science Extensive medical and science database; some crossover with MEDLINE and other clinical/medical databases Usually only avaiable to those with University logins

 

Getting Started with Critical Appraisal

Great. You've found some evidence that you think looks promising. Now what? 

Well, critical appraisal is one of the most tried-and-tested ways to decide whether the evidence is any good. 

Some examples of checklists and other resources out there to help you include: 

  • Royal College of Surgeons of England - Dissecting the literature: the importance of critical appraisal. This 2017 outline from Kirsty Morrison talks you through some of the concepts behind critical appraisal
  • The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine has a range of worksheets to help you assess systematic reviews, diagnostics, prognosis, randomised controlled trials, qualitative studies
  • The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) also has several worksheets for use with "Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule". 

HEE Roadmap