Somerset FT Libraries: Somerset GP Training Hub and Primary Care Links: NHS OpenAthens Resources

List of Nationally Available Resources

There are several collections of journals, ebooks, and evidence-based journal article databases available thanks to HEE funding, though you do need to have an NHS OpenAthens username and password to access them. Resources include:

AMED
You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or ProQuest - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or Ovid - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
BNI
Search for articles on the British Nursing Index. UK focus.You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or ProQuest - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Search for details of Nursing and Allied Health articles. You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or EBSCOhost - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library draws together and oversees systematic reviews from a wide range of clinical and health-related areas.
Embase
Particularly strong for information about general medicine and medication. You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access Embase via the Knowledge Hub or Ovid - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
Emcare
Search for articles on allied health and complementary health. You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or Ovid - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
HMIC
Health management information and details of reports. You will need an OpenAthens username and password to access this database. You can access AMED via the Knowledge Hub or Ovid - ask library staff for details if you are not sure.
MEDLINE
There are several different "editions" of MEDLINE available; it's the largest single medical database. Be aware that results may vary. OpenAthens username and password required.

You can access MEDLINE via the Knowledge Hub, EBSCOhost, Ovid, ProQuest, or the freely available edition via Pubmed.
PSYCINFO
Search for articles on mental health, psychiatry, and psychololgy. OpenAthens username and password required; you can access via the Knowledge Hub or ProQuest.
TRIP Database
The TRIP Pro Database, provided to NHS users in England by NHS England, incorporates systematic reviews, medical images and videos, and links to millions of full-text articles. You may need to access via Athens - ask library staff for details.

Other resources available include:

BMJ Best Practice - short additional registration required
Kortext ebooks national collection
Oxford Medicine Online including selected ebooks

Your Librarian

Primary & Integrated Care Library Support

Email Me