Musgrove Park Hospital (MPH)
Open: Mon-Fri: 8.30am-4.30pm 24/7 for registered members
(01823) 342433
Knowledge & Library Services, Musgrove Park Academy, Musgrove Park Hospital TA1 5DA
Yeovil District Hospital (YDH)
Open: Mon-Fri: 8.30am-4.30pm (staffed hours may vary) 24/7 for registered members
01935 384495 / 4697
Academy Library,Yeovil District Hospital, Higher Kingston, Yeovil, BA21 4AT
Follow us 
These are a selection of the most current books we have specifically to support nursing, midwifery and allied health professional research. Click on the titles to check availability.
You can search for more titles via our Library Catalogue.
You can use our book request form to request books that we do not currently have in stock, or email details to library@somersetft.nhs.uk.
Doing Research in the Real World by
From first planning to writing up your research, this complete guide will help you push your project forward. Walking you through every step you need to take, it helps you build your knowledge of theory and methods and offers straightforward guidance to empower you to make good research decisions and learn best practice. This fifth edition: Draws on over 70 case studies of research in action to demonstrate potential pitfalls - and how to avoid them. Adds a new chapter on data management, providing how-to guidance on storing your research data. Provides more than 150 activities to help you develop your understanding of key concepts and advance your research methods knowledge. Illustrates how research methods skills transfer to the workplace, helping you boost your employability. Accompanied by online resources including videos, case studies and further reading that bring methods to life, this accessible book is still the definitive research companion for any student doing a research project.
Nursing Research by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria , and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
Nursing Research : principles, process and issues by 
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by 
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers by
*Interested in purchasing Doing Your Research Project as a SmartBook? Visit https: //connect2.mheducation.com/join/?c=bellwaters7e to register for access today* Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project. This is the market-leading book for anyone conducting a research project, whether for the first time or as an experienced researcher honing their skills. Clear, concise and readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept to completion of your research report. Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this seventh edition provides: - A brand new first chapter outlining what it means to carry out research, the responsibilities of the researcher, the research journey, and the 'intentional' and 'unintentional' roles of a researcher. - An extensive update to chapter nine on using social media in research , to include ethical considerations and how the researcher can use and reference information collected via these platforms and create collaborative connections. - An online review of the latest tools for collecting and analysing both quantitative and qualitative data gathered from social media sites , such as Survey Monkey and Google Forms. - Further coverage on how to protect research participants , including advice from the NHS on how to conduct research in health-based settings. - More detailed coverage of how to conduct effective online literature searches , not only using Google but also other research-based search engines such as PubMed and professionally-focussed sites. - To support your learning, questions at the end of each chapter , which prompt you to reflect on your research journey. This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study, irrespective of discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health. 'The latest edition provides extensive coverage of all that a research student might need to know. The expanse of the topics covered enables this book to be indispensable to a great range of students, not only at different levels of study but also in a variety of disciplines. Bell and Waters present an honest and practical look at a daunting academic undertaking and provide the student with a resource that is currently has no parallel. This new edition brings the text up to date with a look at some of the more creative approaches the research project might take and challenges students to think before making research decisions.' Dr Susan Schutz PhD, MSc, RNT, RGN, Department of Nursing, Faculty of Health and Life Sciences, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by 
Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research by 
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by Use the Browzine search box below to search for journals by Title, ISSN or Subject.
To conduct a search for relevant journal articles, see the Evidence Searching tab above.
You will need to register for an NHS OpenAthens account in order to access full-text articles, where we have a subscription.
You can request articles via our article request form, or email the details to library@somersetft.nhs.uk.
We recommend starting with a basic search using the Knowledge & Library Hub, which you can search using the box below.
This will search nationally, regionally and locally purchased content such as books, e-books, journals and databases, and also provide links to clinical decision-making tools and other sources of evidence.
If you need to conduct an advanced search on individual databases such as British Nursing Index, CINAHL, Emcare or MEDLINE, links to these databases are available from the Knowledge & Library Hub homepage.
You will need an NHS OpenAthens account in order to access full-text where we have subscriptions.
See the Training tab for more information on how to conduct evidence searches.
Please visit our Library Skills Training Guide to find lots of resources to support you.
Self-directed learning is also available from eLearning for Healthcare:
Individual or group training sessions are available from the library by request - please contact your local NHS library service at library@somersetft.nhs.uk (SFT staff) or library@ydh.nhs.uk (YDH staff) to check availability. Training can be delivered face-to-face or via MS Teams.
Please visit the Writing for Publication page of our Library Skills Training Guide for more information and resources to support writing up and disseminating your research.
We have library facilities at both Musgrove Park Hospital and Yeovil Hospital. The libraries are located in their respective Academies, and offer the following services:
In Taunton, you can also book study spaces. To request a booking, please login to a trust PC or the trust network and click here or contact us.
Both libraries are located in the Academy.
Taunton Academy is located off the Concourse in Jubilee building, opposite M&S. The library entrance is on the ground floor.
Address: Knowledge & Library Services, Musgrove Park Academy, Musgrove Park Hospital TA1 5DA
Yeovil Academy is located on Level 4 of the main Yeovil District Hospital building.
Address: Academy Library,Yeovil District Hospital, Higher Kingston, Yeovil, BA21 4AT
Both libraries are located in their respective Academies and are open 24/7 for registered members.
For out of hours access, please email Taunton-MPH Library for the door access code. Yeovil Library is accessible out of hours by swiping into the Academy with your YDH ID badge.
You can join both libraries by completing an online registration form.
For staffed hours, please see below:
| Taunton-MPH | Yeovil Library |
| Monday - Friday: 8.30am - 4.30pm | Monday - Friday: 8am-5pm |
Taunton-MPH
There are 2 study pods with PCs on the ground floor that are available for private bookings.
More PCs are available on the first floor. These PCs operate on a first come, first served basis. They are accessible 24/7 to registered members of the library.
All the PCs are linked to a colour printer on the first floor. Printing for work purposes is free. If you wish to print for private purposes, the charge is 10p per sheet. Please leave the money in the honesty box next to the printer.
Yeovil
There are 13 PCs available for use in the library and IT Suite 2. Computers can be accessed 24/7.
All PCs are linked to a colour printer located in IT Suite 2. Printing is charged at 10p per sheet - please pay library staff at the issue desk.
WiFi is also available in both libraries. Please ask the at the helpdesk for more details.
Taunton-MPH
2 group study rooms are available to be booked.
Each room has a maximum capacity of 4, but can be combined into one room with a capacity of 8.
Each room is equipped with a computer and a TV/monitor screen. These rooms are ideal for private and group study, tutorials, or training sessions for small groups.
You can request a room using Bookwise. To access Bookwise, you'll need to log on to a trust PC or use the trust network. Alternatively, please contact us.
We ask that you please respect the space as well as other library users. These rooms are not suitable for hot-desking or for private or sensitive meetings/MS Teams calls.
For more information, please see our Room Booking Policy below.
The librarians and evidence specialists offer training in a number of information-related skills to support your clinical or quality improvement needs and activities. You can book online (via MS Teams) or face to face training by contacting the library directly.
Take a look at our Training LibGuide to see what's on offer.
The Cheddon Lodge library collection is now available at the Library in the Academy at Musgrove Park Hospital.
Cheddon Lodge is a dedicated study space with computer access. The facility is accessible Monday to Friday 8.30am-4.30pm. Please ask for the door access code via email prior to your visit.
There are 5 PCs available at Cheddon Lodge. Printing facilities are also available. It is drop-in use only, first come first served.
The space is an unstaffed study area, so we ask that you treat other learning space users with kindness and respect and abide by the following code of conduct: 
Please respect colleagues using the space and keep noise to a minimum. There are private staff offices on the ground floor and first floor.
Please leave the space as you find it, and wipe down the PC/workstation before and after use, using the Clinell wipes provided.
You are welcome to use your own laptops in the learning space, but please do not disconnect any of the desktop equipment to connect your laptop to monitors etc.
Please be mindful of any confidential conversations – it is an open plan space.
Please use headphones if you are attending online, virtual interactive learning sessions or MS Teams calls.
A small kitchen is available for use – please bring your own refreshment supplies and leave the kitchen clean and tidy when you have finished.
Please vacate the space promptly at 16:30 on weekdays – the door will automatically lock at this time, and the access code will NOT work after hours or at weekends.
Please report any IT issues directly with IT – there is a phone by the printer which can be used for this, and there are other emergency numbers beside the phone if required.
