Library & Knowledge Services can support you with planning your research by:
We offer a wide range of books to support the research process, you can search our full catalogue via the SWIMS Library Catalogue.
Listed below are a selection of our most current titles, which are relevant to the planning stage of your research. Click on the title links to check availability, and contact us if you would like any assistance in obtaining the books.
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. New to this Edition: Updated discussion on designing a proposal for a research project and on the steps in designing a research study Additional content on epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology and method Additional updates on the transformative worldview Expanded coverage on specific approaches such as case studies, participatory action research, and visual methods Additional information about qualitative and quantitative data analysis, social media, online qualitative methods, and mentoring and reflexivity in qualitative methods Incorporation of action research and program evaluation in mixed methods and coverage of the latest advances in the mixed methods field Additional information about causality and its relationship to statistics in quantitative methods Incorporation of writing discussion sections into each of the three methodologies An invaluable guide for students and researchers across the social and behavioural sciences.
Doing Research in the Real World by
From first planning to writing up your research, this complete guide will help you push your project forward. Walking you through every step you need to take, it helps you build your knowledge of theory and methods and offers straightforward guidance to empower you to make good research decisions and learn best practice. This fifth edition: Draws on over 70 case studies of research in action to demonstrate potential pitfalls - and how to avoid them. Adds a new chapter on data management, providing how-to guidance on storing your research data. Provides more than 150 activities to help you develop your understanding of key concepts and advance your research methods knowledge. Illustrates how research methods skills transfer to the workplace, helping you boost your employability. Accompanied by online resources including videos, case studies and further reading that bring methods to life, this accessible book is still the definitive research companion for any student doing a research project.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by
This practical book sets out how to approach each stage of your research project, from choosing a research design and methodology to collecting and analysing data and communicating your results - and showcases best practice along the way. Packed with pragmatic guidance for tackling research in the real world, this fourth edition: Offers support for diving into a project using digital data, with how-to guidance on conducting online and social media research Empowers you to confidently disseminate your work and present with impact Helps you map out your research journey and put a plan in place with decision trees in every chapter Challenges you to be reflective and critical about the research you consume and undertake Zina O′Leary′s detailed and down-to-earth approach gives you the research skills and momentum you need to successfully complete your research project.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design (International Student Edition) by
In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. The authors relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry. They compare theoretical frameworks and ways to employ standards of quality, as well as strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results. New in this edition: Updated materials on each tradition More on interpretive frameworks and ethics More visual depictions of the five approaches Two new topical articles in Chapter 5, reproduced in full in the appendices.
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by
Now in its 7th edition this textbook is a must have for any health professional student. It provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Fully updated online interactive self-assessment tests including MCQs, true or false questions and short answer questions.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research is a practical, concise, and easy-to-use reference for the full range of clinical and healthcare research topics, while incorporating evidence based medicine. Comprehensively providing a wide breadth of knowledge, this handbook clearlycovers both the qualitative and quantitative aspects.This handbook includes clear instructions on the legislative requirements as well as the practical requirements of commissioning, conducting, analysing, and reporting research for those in clinical or healthcare practice, education or training. This book has been written with Good Clinical Practice(GCP) education in mind, giving valuable information needed for the accredited certificates and diploma-level benchmark exams now commonly required by employers.Whether you need practical advice on setting up and running a trial, negotiating regulations, learning vital research skills, or to study the underpinning concepts of research methods, this handbook will give you the vital information, clinical evidence, and guidance you need.
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers by
*Interested in purchasing Doing Your Research Project as a SmartBook? Visit https: //connect2.mheducation.com/join/?c=bellwaters7e to register for access today* Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project. This is the market-leading book for anyone conducting a research project, whether for the first time or as an experienced researcher honing their skills. Clear, concise and readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept to completion of your research report. Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this seventh edition provides: - A brand new first chapter outlining what it means to carry out research, the responsibilities of the researcher, the research journey, and the 'intentional' and 'unintentional' roles of a researcher. - An extensive update to chapter nine on using social media in research , to include ethical considerations and how the researcher can use and reference information collected via these platforms and create collaborative connections. - An online review of the latest tools for collecting and analysing both quantitative and qualitative data gathered from social media sites , such as Survey Monkey and Google Forms. - Further coverage on how to protect research participants , including advice from the NHS on how to conduct research in health-based settings. - More detailed coverage of how to conduct effective online literature searches , not only using Google but also other research-based search engines such as PubMed and professionally-focussed sites. - To support your learning, questions at the end of each chapter , which prompt you to reflect on your research journey. This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study, irrespective of discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health. 'The latest edition provides extensive coverage of all that a research student might need to know. The expanse of the topics covered enables this book to be indispensable to a great range of students, not only at different levels of study but also in a variety of disciplines. Bell and Waters present an honest and practical look at a daunting academic undertaking and provide the student with a resource that is currently has no parallel. This new edition brings the text up to date with a look at some of the more creative approaches the research project might take and challenges students to think before making research decisions.' Dr Susan Schutz PhD, MSc, RNT, RGN, Department of Nursing, Faculty of Health and Life Sciences, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by 
Research Coproduction in Healthcare by
A ground-breaking and rigorous presentation of coproduction in research In Research Coproduction in Healthcare, a team of experienced applied health researchers and decision makers deliver a robust exploration of collaborative ways on how to plan and conduct healthcare research. The book explores relational skills that are essential to achieving successful coproduction, including trust through humility, ongoing communication, emotional intelligence, and the structures and processes required to work with a range of knowledge users. It also sets out the fundamentals of research coproduction and its transformative potential for more effective and efficient health systems and improved health outcomes. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to the planning, implementation and evaluation of research coproduction, including how to write a successful research coproduction proposal Comprehensive explorations of capacity-building and infrastructure requirements Practical discussions of the theory of coproduction, including treatments of power and tokenism In-depth reflections on the essential building blocks of research coproduction Perfect for researchers, knowledge users, funders, trainees and organizations, Research Coproduction in Healthcare will also earn a place in the libraries of coproduction teams, policymakers, clinicians, and health system managers.
Please see below a list of relevant ebooks which you can read to support your research journey.
You will need an NHS OpenAthens account to access the full-text, it is quick and easy to register for an NHS OpenAthens account.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research by 
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by 
LGBTQ Health Research by 
The Research Process in Nursing by We offer access to thousands of electronic journals. Please use the search box below to search our subscriptions, or, scroll down to see a list of research relevant journals.
You will need an NHS OpenAthens account to access the full-text, it is quick and easy to register for an NHS OpenAthens account.
Before you start your research project, do you know what evidence already exists around your chosen topic?
You can use our Knowledge & Library Hub to search for evidence yourself (try the search box below), or alternatively, the Library offers an evidence search service - our professional team of Knowledge & Evidence Specialists will search for the latest evidence in your chosen field for you, using high quality healthcare information databases, point of care tools, grey literature sources and more.
To request an evidence search, please complete the online form here if you work for Somerset Foundation Trust library or Primary Care with as many details as possible. We'd be grateful if you could give us as much notice as possible.
Please note, we won't conduct evidence searches for academic assignments - instead we will signpost you to training resources, or offer a 1:1 assisted search if we have capacity.
Please visit our Library Skills Training Guide to find lots of resources to support you.
Self-directed learning is also available from eLearning for Healthcare:
Individual or group training sessions are available from the library by request - please contact your local NHS library service at library@somersetft.nhs.uk (SFT staff) or library@ydh.nhs.uk (YDH staff) to check availability. Training can be delivered face-to-face or via MS Teams.
We have library facilities at both Musgrove Park Hospital and Yeovil Hospital. The libraries are located in their respective Academies, and offer the following services:
In Taunton, you can also book study spaces. To request a booking, please login to a trust PC or the trust network and click here or contact us.
Both libraries are located in the Academy.
Taunton Academy is located off the Concourse in Jubilee building, opposite M&S. The library entrance is on the ground floor.
Address: Knowledge & Library Services, Musgrove Park Academy, Musgrove Park Hospital TA1 5DA
Yeovil Academy is located on Level 4 of the main Yeovil District Hospital building.
Address: Academy Library,Yeovil District Hospital, Higher Kingston, Yeovil, BA21 4AT
Both libraries are located in their respective Academies and are open 24/7 for registered members.
For out of hours access, please email Taunton-MPH Library for the door access code. Yeovil Library is accessible out of hours by swiping into the Academy with your YDH ID badge.
You can join both libraries by completing an online registration form.
For staffed hours, please see below:
| Taunton-MPH | Yeovil Library |
| Monday - Friday: 8.30am - 4.30pm | Monday - Friday: 8am-5pm |
Taunton-MPH
There are 2 study pods with PCs on the ground floor that are available for private bookings.
More PCs are available on the first floor. These PCs operate on a first come, first served basis. They are accessible 24/7 to registered members of the library.
All the PCs are linked to a colour printer on the first floor. Printing for work purposes is free. If you wish to print for private purposes, the charge is 10p per sheet. Please leave the money in the honesty box next to the printer.
Yeovil
There are 13 PCs available for use in the library and IT Suite 2. Computers can be accessed 24/7.
All PCs are linked to a colour printer located in IT Suite 2. Printing is charged at 10p per sheet - please pay library staff at the issue desk.
WiFi is also available in both libraries. Please ask the at the helpdesk for more details.
Taunton-MPH
2 group study rooms are available to be booked.
Each room has a maximum capacity of 4, but can be combined into one room with a capacity of 8.
Each room is equipped with a computer and a TV/monitor screen. These rooms are ideal for private and group study, tutorials, or training sessions for small groups.
You can request a room using Bookwise. To access Bookwise, you'll need to log on to a trust PC or use the trust network. Alternatively, please contact us.
We ask that you please respect the space as well as other library users. These rooms are not suitable for hot-desking or for private or sensitive meetings/MS Teams calls.
For more information, please see our Room Booking Policy below.
The librarians and evidence specialists offer training in a number of information-related skills to support your clinical or quality improvement needs and activities. You can book online (via MS Teams) or face to face training by contacting the library directly.
Take a look at our Training LibGuide to see what's on offer.
The Cheddon Lodge library collection is now available at the Library in the Academy at Musgrove Park Hospital.
Cheddon Lodge is a dedicated study space with computer access. The facility is accessible Monday to Friday 8.30am-4.30pm. Please ask for the door access code via email prior to your visit.
There are 5 PCs available at Cheddon Lodge. Printing facilities are also available. It is drop-in use only, first come first served.
The space is an unstaffed study area, so we ask that you treat other learning space users with kindness and respect and abide by the following code of conduct: 
Please respect colleagues using the space and keep noise to a minimum. There are private staff offices on the ground floor and first floor.
Please leave the space as you find it, and wipe down the PC/workstation before and after use, using the Clinell wipes provided.
You are welcome to use your own laptops in the learning space, but please do not disconnect any of the desktop equipment to connect your laptop to monitors etc.
Please be mindful of any confidential conversations – it is an open plan space.
Please use headphones if you are attending online, virtual interactive learning sessions or MS Teams calls.
A small kitchen is available for use – please bring your own refreshment supplies and leave the kitchen clean and tidy when you have finished.
Please vacate the space promptly at 16:30 on weekdays – the door will automatically lock at this time, and the access code will NOT work after hours or at weekends.
Please report any IT issues directly with IT – there is a phone by the printer which can be used for this, and there are other emergency numbers beside the phone if required.
