Musgrove Park Hospital (MPH)
Open: Mon-Fri: 8.30am-4.30pm 24/7 for registered members
Knowledge & Library Services, Musgrove Park Academy, Musgrove Park Hospital TA1 5DA
Yeovil District Hospital (YDH)
24/7 for registered members
Variable hours (when unstaffed, please send us an email or phone us during core staff hours)
Academy Library,Yeovil District Hospital, Higher Kingston, Yeovil, BA21 4AT
(01823) 342433 / library@somersetft.nhs.uk
Follow us @somersetft-kls.bsky.social
We are always interested to collect feedback to improve our services.
Please take a couple of minutes to complete our survey.
Knowledge Management (KM) is a concept which grew as corporate business recognised that knowledge had become a key competitive tool in the early 1990s. An exact definition is difficult to pin down but in its simplest form , knowledge management categorizes knowledge as both explicit (that which has been codified) and tacit (that which is subjective and personalised). As a KLS service, we think that the definition promoted by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) best summarises our approach to KM activities for teams throughout Somerset NHS Foundation Trust and the Somerset ICB:
collecting, organising, storing, sharing and exploiting organisational knowledge assets; ensuring that these assets remain available for future use. It includes capturing and recording knowledge, reflecting on results and sharing knowledge, skills and outcomes for the benefit of others
Critical Reflection in Practice by
The terms 'critical reflection' and 'reflective practice' are at the heart of modern healthcare. But what do they really mean? Building on its ground-breaking predecessor, entitled Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions , this heavily revised second edition analyses and explores reflection. It presents a structured method that will enable you to both challenge and develop your own practice. This book is the essential guide to critical reflection for all students, academics and practitioners. New to this Edition: - Expanded to meet the needs of all healthcare practitioners - Redefines self-evaluation as a catalyst for personal and professional development - Fully updated edition of a respected book: now includes a chapter on the rise of professional knowledge
The KM Cookbook by
Please use your OpenAthens account to access the eBook.
The KM Cookbook serves up a menu of success stories and strategies for organizations wanting to know more about Knowledge Management Standard ISO30401.
The Knowledge Café by
Please use your OpenAthens account to access the eBook.
Knowledge Café is a process for sharing information, whether face to face or virtual. This popular and practical knowledge management tool supports a culture where projects and innovation thrive. The Knowledge Café is a mindset and environment for engaging, discussing, and exchanging knowledge within a group either face to face or virtually. At the café, participants can discuss hard-to-solve project issues or resolve a family or community crisis. This metaphorical town square supports knowledge circulation and rejuvenation and increases its velocity--making it a breeding ground for innovation. The aha moments at one Knowledge Café can match the benefits of multiple conferences, workshops, and training put together.
Knowledge Development in Nursing by
Showing how the different types of knowledge affect nursing theory, Knowledge Development in Nursing: Theory and Process, 9th Edition helps you understand nursing theory and its links with nursing research and practice. It examines the principles of knowledge development, including the relationship between patterns of knowing, and explores how evidence-based nursing theory can be used to improve patient care. Written by nursing educators Peggy Chinn and Maeona Kramer, this edition is updated with the latest advances in theory development and additional examples of how nursing theory applies to clinical practice. Discussion of Patterns of Knowing includes empiric, personal, aesthetic, ethical, and emancipatory knowledge, defining the five different types of knowledge and how they relate to each other. Full-color map in the front of the book enhances your understanding with a visual representation of how the patterns of knowing are related. Discussion of evidence-based practice provides examples of how the five patterns of knowing may be applied to nursing practice. A comprehensive discussion of theory, theory development, and the relationship of theory to nursing research and practice helps you learn to apply theory to practice. Think About It questions sharpen your understanding of the emancipatory knowing process of praxis - critical reflection and action that transforms experience. Interpretive summaries highlight the essential features of major theories, making conceptual frameworks easier to learn and remember. A glossary defines the key terms and concepts of nursing theory. An Evolve companion website includes more case studies, a Pattern of Knowing animation, and additional learning resources.
Knowledge is beautiful by
In this mind-blowing follow-up to the bestselling Information is Beautiful, the king of infographics David McCandless uses spectacular visuals to reveal unexpected insights into how the world really works. We are living in the Information Age, in which we are constantly bombarded with data - on television, in print and online. How can we relate to this mind-numbing overload? Enter David McCandless and his amazing infographics: simple, elegant ways to understand information too complex or abstract to grasp any way but visually. In his unique signature style, he creates dazzling displays that blend facts with their connections, contexts and relationships, making information meaningful, entertaining - and beautiful. Taking infographics to the next level, his new book Knowledge is Beautiful is an endlessly fascinating spin through the world of visualized data, which offers a deeper, more wide-ranging look at the world and its history. Covering everything from dog breeds and movie plots to the origins of life and a timeline of the far future, this stunning book is guaranteed to enrich your understanding of the world.
Knowledge Management for teams and projects by
The discipline of Knowledge Management (KM) is becoming established as a key productivity enabler in today's modern organisations. This book describes how KM can be applied at a team and project level: at all scales from small teams working on discrete activities, to large multi-company construction and development projects. The book includes some of the KM techniques that can be applied to projects, such as Peer Assists, Project Retrospect's, Technical Limit meetings, KM self-audits, and KM plans. It is illustrated throughout with examples from successful organisations.
Knowledge Management in Healthcare by
Knowledge management goes beyond data and information capture in computerized health records and ordering systems; it seeks to leverage the experiences of all who interact in healthcare to enhance care delivery, teamwork, and organizational learning. Knowledge management - if envisioned thoughtfully - takes a systemic approach to implementation that includes the embodiment of a learning culture. Knowledge is then used to support that culture and the knowledge workers within it to encourage them to share what they know, thusly enabling their peers, their organizations and ultimately their patients to benefit from their experience to proactively dismantle hierarchy and encourage sharing about what works, and what doesn't to focus efforts on improvement. Knowledge Management in Healthcare draws on relevant business, clinical and health administration literature plus the analysis of discussions with a variety of clinical, administrative, leadership, patient and information experts. The result is a book that will inform thinking on knowledge access needs to mitigate potential failures, design lasting improvements and support the sharing of what is known to enable work towards attaining high reliability. It can be used as a general tool for leaders and individuals wishing to devise and implement a knowledge-sharing culture in their institution, design innovative activities supporting transparency and communication to strengthen existing programs intended to enhance knowledge sharing behaviours and contribute to high quality, safe care.
Knowledge Management in Libraries by
Please use your OpenAthens account to access to the ebook.
Knowledge Management in Libraries: Concepts, Tools and Approaches brings to the forefront the increasing recognition of the value of knowledge and information to individuals, organizations, and communities, providing an analysis of the concepts of Knowledge Management (KM) that prevails among the Library and Information Science (LIS) community. Thus, the book explores knowledge management from the perspective of LIS professionals. Furthermore, unlike most books on the topic, which address it almost exclusively in the context of a firm or an organization to help gain a competitive advantage, this book looks at knowledge management in the context of not for profit organizations such as libraries.
The Knowledge Manager's Handbook by
WINNER: CILIP's Knowledge and Information Management Award 2019 - Information Resources Print CategoryThe way an organization manages and disseminates its knowledge is key to informed business decision-making, effectiveness and competitive edge. The Knowledge Manager's Handbook takes you step by step through the processes needed to define and embed an effective knowledge management framework within an organization. This second edition now includes clear guidance on the best practice requirements from the first ever internationally recognised standard for knowledge management, ISO 30401:2018, as well as content on the impact of AI and data analytics. Nick Milton and Patrick Lambe work through each stage of creating and implementing a knowledge management framework for an organization's specific needs, based around the four essential aspects of knowledge management: people, processes, technologies and governance. With updated international case studies from organizations of all sizes and sectors, along with user-friendly templates and checklists to help implement effective knowledge management procedures, The Knowledge Manager's Handbook is the end-to-end guide to making a sustainable change in the knowledge management culture.
Rebel ideas : the power of diverse thinking by 
