Musgrove Park Hospital (MPH)
Open: Mon-Fri: 8.30am-4.30pm 24/7 for registered members
Knowledge & Library Services, Musgrove Park Academy, Musgrove Park Hospital TA1 5DA
Yeovil District Hospital (YDH)
24/7 for registered members
Variable hours (when unstaffed, please send us an email or phone us during core staff hours)
Academy Library,Yeovil District Hospital, Higher Kingston, Yeovil, BA21 4AT
(01823) 342433 / library@somersetft.nhs.uk
Follow us @somersetft-kls.bsky.social
NHS staff and students can register for an NHS OpenAthens username and password to access our electronic resources. The single sign on allows access to a wide range of resources including ebooks, ejournals and databases.
Eligible users can register from work or at home. You can register for OpenAthens by clicking the button below.
If you are transferring to Somerset FT from another Trust, you may already have an OpenAthens account. If so, please let us know and we will transfer your account, to allow you access to our subscribed online resources.
Please note: when registering from home it can take up to 7 days to verify your account. Registration from an NHS networked computer is recommended.
Databases will allow you to structure complex and in-depth searches to find specific information.
An OpenAthens account is required to access the databases below.
| AMED (Allied & Complementary Medicine) | Covers complementary medicine, palliative care and allied health professions. |
| BNI (British Nursing Index) | Covers all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare. |
| CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) | Covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines. |
| Cochrane Library | A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The databases include; Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, CENTRAL (Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials) and Cochrane Clinical Answers. |
| EMBASE | Covers pharmacology, pharmaceutics, drug research, toxicology and more. |
| EMCARE | Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. |
| HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) | Covers health policy, management and administration, quality, safety etc. |
| Medline | Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. |
| PsycINFO | Covers psychology and related disciplines. |
| PubMed | Published by the National Library of Medicine in the United States, PubMed contains more than 30 million citations in biomedical and life sciences literature. |
| Social Policy and Practice | Covers a broad range of evidence-based social science research. Fields covered include; public health, social care, community development, mental and community health, homelessness, housing, crime, equalities, law and order, children and families, and older people. |
| Trip Pro Database | A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. |
BMJ Best Practice is an online decision-support tool for use at the point of care. It draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
All NHS colleagues have access to the full version online via their OpenAthens account.
How to log into BMJ Best Practice:
BMJ Best Practice is also available as an app. It can be downloaded via the following:
You will need to create a private account before using the app
UpToDate is a l
eading point of care tool. Updated on a daily basis, it provides information on more than 10,000 topics in 26 specialties.
It has access to more than 460 journal titles, as well as over 10,000 guidelines, and there is a comprehensive drug database.
UpToDate us accessible on a Trust PC, at home and via the app.
An OpenAthens account is required to access UpToDate at home and via the app.
How to log into UpToDate:
The app can be downloaded via the following:
