To access to the books below, click on the title of the book. You will be redirected to the Library & Knowledge Hub page for this title.
Scroll down until 'Location' 
If you find in the status column 'available' , you can go to the library and find the book on the shelves. Use the Shelf mark to locate the book in the library. If you see the status 'on loan' then you can request it. To do this, click on 'Request the item' on the left of the item title
If you have any issue please send us an email
Handbook of Patient Safety by
Every day, doctors are faced with the challenge of keeping the people they treat safe and free from harm. Patient safety is a relatively new field of study, but the field is expanding and there is now better understanding of what is needed to measure and achieve safety for patients. The Handbook of Patient Safety will empower doctors, nurses and other professionals to be able to develop safe clinical processes that allow proactive managementand minimisation of risk, so that people are not harmed when they receive clinical care. It gives the rationale for patient safety, the theories behind the science of patient safety and then thepractical methods that frontline staff can use on a daily basis to decrease harm.Pocket sized and practical, this handbook is the ideal guide to support frontline staff and trainees, as well as all allied professionals in the name of patient safety. It reflects the World Health Organization's Patient Safety Curriculum and is written by international experts in their field who have specialist interests and direct expertise in dealing with patient safety issues. This bookwill demystify what is often seen as a complex topic, helping doctors understand the methods needed to provide safe care.
Improving Patient Safety by
Based on the IOM's estimate of 44,000 deaths annually, medical errors rank as the eighth leading cause of death in the U.S. Clearly medical errors are an epidemic that needs to be contained. Despite these numbers, patient safety and medical errors remain an issue for physicians and other clinicians. This book bridges the issues related to patient safety by providing clinically relevant, vignette-based description of the areas where most problems occur. Each vignette highlights a particular issue such as communication, human facturs, E.H.R., etc. and provides tools and strategies for improving quality in these areas and creating a safer environment for patients.
Understanding Patient Safety, Third Edition by
Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help you optimize quality and safety. Understanding Patient Safety begins with an introduction to patient safety and medical errors. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout. Features: * Coverage of human factors and errors at the person-machine interface * Review of workplace issues, including supporting caregivers after major errors * How to organize an effective safety program * Coordination of patient education and training * Overview of the malpractice system * Discussion of the patient's role
Patient Safety by
At a time of increasing regulatory scrutiny and medico-legal risk, managing serious clinical incidents within primary care has never been more important. Failure to manage appropriately can have serious consequences both for service organisations and for individuals involved. This is the first book to provide detailed guidance on how to conduct incident investigations in primary care. The concise guide explains how to recognise a serious clinical incident, how to conduct a root cause analysis investigation, and how and when duty of candour applies covers the technical aspects of serious incident recognition and report writing includes a wealth of practical advice and 'top tips', including how to manage the common pitfalls in writing reports offers practical advice as well as some new and innovative tools to help make the RCA process easier to follow explores the all-important human factors in clinical incidents in detail, with multiple examples and worked-through cases studies as well as in-depth sample reports and analysis. This book offers a master class for anyone performing RCA and aiming to demonstrate learning and service improvement in response to serious clinical incidents. It is essential reading for any clinical or governance leads in primary care, including GP practices, 'out-of-hours', urgent care centres, prison health and NHS 111. It also offers valuable insights to any clinician who is in training or working at the coal face who wishes to understand how serious clinical are investigated and managed.
Lean Hospitals by
Organizations around the world are using Lean to redesign care and improve processes in a way that achieves and sustains meaningful results for patients, staff, physicians, and health systems. Lean Hospitals, Third Edition explains how to use the Lean methodology and mindsets to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs, increasing capacity, and strengthening the long-term bottom line. This updated edition of a Shingo Research Award recipient begins with an overview of Lean methods. It explains how Lean practices can help reduce various frustrations for caregivers, prevent delays and harm for patients, and improve the long-term health of your organization. The second edition of this book presented new material on identifying waste, A3 problem solving, engaging employees in continuous improvement, and strategy deployment. This third edition adds new sections on structured Lean problem solving methods (including Toyota Kata), Lean Design, and other topics. Additional examples, case studies, and explanations are also included throughout the book. Mark Graban is also the co-author, with Joe Swartz, of the book Healthcare Kaizen: Engaging Frontline Staff in Sustainable Continuous Improvements , which is also a Shingo Research Award recipient. Mark and Joe also wrote The Executive's Guide to Healthcare Kaizen.
Patient Safety and Managing Risk in Nursing by
Patient safety is a predominant feature of quality healthcare and something that every patient has the right to expect. As a nurse, you must consider the safety of the patient as paramount in every aspect of your role; and it is now an increasingly important topic in pre-registration nursing programmes. This book aims to provide you with a greater understanding of how to manage patient safety and risk in your practice. The book focuses on the essentials that you need to know, and therefore provides a clear pathway through what can sometimes seem an overwhelmingly complex mass of rules, procedures and possible options. Key features: · A practical introduction to patient safety and risk management written specifically for nurses and nursing students · Case studies and scenarios help you to apply patient safety and risk management principles to actual practice · Each chapter is mapped to the relevant NMC standards and Essential Skills Clusters so that you can see how you are meeting the professional requirements · Activities throughout help you to think critically and reflect on practice.
Ac
cess the Royal Marsden online. Several sub-chapters are dedicated to patient safety.
Login with your NHS OpenAthens account to read content.
If you want to find other resources on patient safety or other subject, here is a video tutorial on how to use the Knowledge and Library Services Hub.