The Autism and Neurodiversity Self Advocacy Handbook by
Being autistic, you might come across more challenges than others around you, such as dealing with ableism, discrimination in employment or difficulties in your relationships. Learning to successfully self-advocate will help you to build confidence, strengthen your relationships and ensure your needs are met. Written by two autistic activists, this book will give you the tools and strategies to advocate for yourself in any situation. It covers specific scenarios including work, school, and family and relationships, as well as looking at advocacy for the wider community, whether that's through social media, presentations or writing. Additionally, the book provides advice on building independence, developing your skills, standing up for others and resolving conflict. The authors also explore the overall impact of self-advocacy in all areas of your life, building a sense of confidence, resilience and control. Drawing on the authors' extensive experience, this book will help you to successfully prioritise your needs and rights, challenge what is unfair or unjust and make your voice heard.
Neurodiversity in the Workplace by
Neurodiversity in the Workplace presents a timely and needed perspective on the role and responsibility of employers and those working to increase the effectiveness of workplace practices to examine the many ways we preclude large segments of the population from employment; minimizing opportunities for building a truly inclusive work environment. This collection provides an opportunity to look at how discrimination can occur across the employment process and what can be done to minimize the exclusionary practices that prevent neurodiverse individuals from getting into the workplace, advancing, thriving, and contributing as each of us desires to do. With expertise from leading professionals, this book provides a holistic look at the application of leadership theories in a neurodiverse context and how the workplace can be adapted to accommodate for neurodiverse employees. This book also explores effective recruitment strategies by looking into applicant screening as well as interviewing and selection, adapting internal organizational resources to a neurodiverse workforce, and legal and regulatory environment considerations for autism hiring programs. Each chapter provides an overview of existing knowledge on effective workplace inclusion practices across the employment process, specific implications of research to date for a more neurodiversity-inclusive workplace, and what future research is needed to further inform these practices. This volume is intended to increase awareness about the challenges and opportunities in making the workplace more neurodiversity-inclusive, making it instrumental for I/O and other psychologists. This book is also crucial for management and business consultants; employers; diversity, equity, and inclusion specialists; human resource professionals; and others interested in neurodiversity inclusion more broadly.
Unmasking autism : the radical power of embracing our neurodiversity by
'Reading this felt like being at home - I didn't realise how much I masked. What an incredible book that I know will be re-read many times over.' - Dr Camilla Pang, author of Explaining Humans ' Unmasking Autism is at once a most deeply personal and scholarly account of the damage caused by autistic (and all) people leading masked lives, and how unmasking is essential to creating a self-determined, authentic life... This is a remarkable work that will stand at the forefront of the neurodiversity movement.' - Dr Barry M. Prizant, author of Uniquely Human 'A powerful argument for radical self-acceptance applicable to all readers.' - Los Angeles Times 'An essential roadmap for autistic people to be themselves.' - NPR 'Price's accessible and compassionate writing shines, and readers will feel encouraged to embrace a new understanding of themselves. Its potential to help masked autistic adults, especially those from systemically marginalized backgrounds, makes this book essential for most collections.' - Library Journal (starred review) Have you, a friend or family member been living with undiagnosed autism? For every visibly Autistic person you meet, there are countless 'masked' people who pass as neurotypical. They don't fit the stereotypical mould of Autism and are often forced by necessity to mask who they are, spending their entire lives trying to hide their Autistic traits. In particular, there is evidence that Autism remains significantly undiagnosed in women, people of colour, trans and gender non-conforming people, many of whom are only now starting to recognise those traits later in life. Blending cutting-edge research, personal insights and practical exercises for self-expression, Dr Devon Price examines the phenomenon of 'masking', making a passionate argument for radical authenticity and non-conformity. A powerful call for change, Unmasking Autism gifts its readers with the tools to uncover their true selves and build a new society - one where everyone can thrive on their own terms.
Neurodiversity by
Neurodiversity: From Phenomenology to Neurobiology and Enhancing Technologies is an introduction to the strengths-based model of neurodiversity (SBMN), designed to integrate and build on existing theories of positive psychology, positive psychiatry, multiple intelligences, and developmental psychology and to apply them to devise strengths-based assessments and interventions for neurodiverse individuals. Because the field is in its infancy, there are few authoritative resources for clinicians and educators who wish to understand their neurodiverse patients and students and acquire up-to-date strategies for supporting them in daily life. This book, edited by one of the foremost experts on neurodiversity and drawing on the knowledge of a stellar group of contributors, explores social models of disability as the starting point for strengths-based approaches to neurodiversity, translating them into approaches to support, educate, and enable people with neurodifferences to function successfully in educational and work environments. Down-to-earth, accessible, and intended for a diverse audience, the book's assets are many: * The benefits of SBMN to autistic individuals are addressed in-depth, including assessment based on character strengths and specific talents, as well as interventions targeting not only these individuals but also families, organizations, and society.* Employment, a key trait enabling independence and self-determination, has heretofore been difficult for neurodiverse individuals. The twin challenges of training, employing, and retaining neurodiverse staff and readying candidates for the labor market are discussed, with emphasis on innovative programs and strategies. * The chapter on dyslexia examines the dichotomy between the challenges dyslexic people face and their extraordinary abilities, redefining what it means to be dyslexic and recognizing that dyslexia is more than a reading issue, it is a way of interacting with the world.* Case examples help readers understand each chapter's critically important concepts. These examples are of both individuals, such as a neurodivergent college student struggling with "big picture" thinking, and programs, such as the Autism at Work program implemented by the software company SAP, which has led to remarkable productivity.* Other features include recommendations for educators, clinicians, and other professionals; key concepts; discussion questions; and suggested readings. These ensure that the reader gets the most out of the material and provide guidance for locating additional information. Positive, substantive, and eminently useful, Neurodiversity: From Phenomenology to Neurobiology and Enhancing Technologies aims to change our culture to one that not only embraces neurodiversity but promotes it as a necessary societal value.
Ambulance mental health response : a compassion-focused workbook for mental health, alongside autism, dementia, and learning disabilities by
With cases of mental health illness on the rise, it is increasingly crucial that ambulance clinicians and paramedics feel empowered in their ability to assess and manage a variety of conditions. This resource provides the foundation of knowledge you need to navigate often-fraught situations with sensitivity and confidence.
ABC of Autism by
ABC of Autism provides clinicians and medical students with a succinct, evidence-based overview of the symptoms, evaluation, treatment, and management of autism in both daily practice and for ongoing patient support plans. This accessible and informative guide allows primary healthcare professionals to quickly reference the essential information required for appropriate patient care. Compact yet comprehensive, this book offers concise and focused chapters covering topics ranging from basic epidemiology and key diagnostic features to managing behavioural difficulties and co-morbidities, such as ADHD and dyspraxia. Full-colour illustrations reinforce understanding of the condition while actual case studies demonstrate contemporary practices and real-life scenarios. ABC of Autism is a valuable resource for GPs, paediatricians, speech therapists, educational psychologists, medical and nursing students, and practitioners responsible for coordinating multidisciplinary care for patients with autism.
All Cats Have Asperger Syndrome by
All Cats Have Asperger Syndrome takes a playful look at Asperger Syndrome (AS), drawing inspiration from the feline world in a way that will strike a chord with all those who are familiar with AS. Delightful colour photographs of cats bring to life familiar characteristics such as sensitive hearing, scampering at the first sign of being stroked, and particular eating habits. Touching, humorous and insightful, this book evokes the difficulties and joys of raising a child who is different and leaves the reader with a sense of the dignity, individuality, and potential of people with AS. This engaging book is an ideal, gentle introduction to the world of AS. `There is a great deal of truth in humour. If you have only just begun to discover why someone with Asperger's syndrome is different, this book will inform and entertain you. The descriptions provide an accurate balance between the qualities and difficulties associated with Asperger's syndrome, while the photographs will make the journey of discovery enjoyable and remarkable.' - Tony Attwood, author of Asperger's Syndrome and The Complete Guide to Asperger's Syndrome
Asperger syndrome and long-term relationships by
Ashley Stanford is married to a man with Asperger Syndrome, and her book provides the answers to many of the questions asked by the increasing number of people in that situation. She explains how behaviours that may have appeared odd - or even downright irritating - are the manifestation of AS, and shows how understanding can lead to greater tolerance, or to change. Stanford provides a wealth of strategies for living successfully with the more uncompromising aspects of AS, pointing out that AS also brings enormous strengths to a relationship, and emphasizing the value of understanding. Including many quotes from people in long-term AS relationships, the book describes many positive solutions that have worked for other couples.
Autism's False Prophets by
A London researcher was the first to assert that the combination measles-mumps-rubella vaccine known as MMR caused autism in children. Following this "discovery," a handful of parents declared that a mercury-containing preservative in several vaccines was responsible for the disease. If mercury caused autism, they reasoned, eliminating it from a child's system should treat the disorder. Consequently, a number of untested alternative therapies arose, and, most tragically, in one such treatment, a doctor injected a five-year-old autistic boy with a chemical in an effort to cleanse him of mercury, which stopped his heart instead. Children with autism have been placed on stringent diets, subjected to high-temperature saunas, bathed in magnetic clay, asked to swallow digestive enzymes and activated charcoal, and injected with various combinations of vitamins, minerals, and acids. Instead of helping, these therapies can hurt those who are most vulnerable, and particularly in the case of autism, they undermine childhood vaccination programs that have saved millions of lives. An overwhelming body of scientific evidence clearly shows that childhood vaccines are safe and does not cause autism. Yet widespread fear of vaccines on the part of parents persists. In this book, Paul A. Offit, a national expert on vaccines, challenges the modern-day false prophets who have so egregiously misled the public and exposes the opportunism of the lawyers, journalists, celebrities, and politicians who support them. Offit recounts the history of autism research and the exploitation of this tragic condition by advocates and zealots. He considers the manipulation of science in the popular media and the courtroom, and he explores why society is susceptible to the bad science and risky therapies put forward by many antivaccination activists.
Born on a blue day : a memoir of Asperger's and an extraordinary mind by
'I was born on 31 January 1979 - a Wednesday. I know it was a Wednesday, becasue the date is blue in my mind and Wednesdays are always blue, like the number nine or the sound of loud voices arguing.' Like the character Hoffman portrayed, he can perform extraordinary maths in his head, sees numbers as shapes, colours, textures and motions, and can learn to speak a language fluently from scratch in three days. He also has a compulsive need for order and routine. He eats exactly 45 grams of porridge for breakfast and cannot leave the house without counting the number of items of clothing he's wearing. If he gets stressed or unhappy he closes his eyes and counts. But in some ways Daniel is not all like the Rain Man. He is virtually unique amongst people who have severe autisitic disorders in being capable of living a fully-functioning, independent life. It is this incredible self-awareness and ability to communicate what it feels like to live in a totally extraordinary way that makes BORN ON A BLUE DAY so powerful.
Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Adult Asperger Syndrome by
This book has been replaced by Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Second Edition, ISBN 978-1-4625-3768-6.
Get Steven home : The story of a year long battle to enable a young autistic man to live at home by
The story of how a young autistic man went away for three days respite and it took a year to get him back home. The story details a journey through deprivation of liberty orders; internet campaigns; media and press involvement and finally several hearings at the High Court.
Helping Adults with Asperger's Syndrome Get and Stay Hired by
Employment expert Barbara Bissonnette provides strategies that professionals and parents need to guide individuals with Asperger's Syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) to manageable jobs, and keep them employed. Career counselors and coaches, vocational rehabilitation specialists, other professionals, and parents are often unsure of how to assist people with Asperger's Syndrome. Traditional career assessments and protocols do not match their unique needs. In this practical book, readers will gain insight into how people with Asperger's Syndrome think and the common employment challenges they face. It explains how to build rapport and trust, facilitate better job matches, improve interpersonal communication and executive function skills, and encourage flexible-thinking and problem-solving. With tried-and-tested advice, assessment tools, and in-depth profiles of actual coaching clients and innovative companies that are utilizing the specialized skills of people with Asperger's, this book shows the way to a brighter employment future for those on the autism spectrum.
How to Find Work That Works for People with Asperger Syndrome by
For those who want to help somebody with Asperger Syndrome find and keep a satisfying job, this book is a vital tool. Gail Hawkins guides readers through the entire process of gaining employment, from building a supportive team, identifying and addressing workplace challenges, to securing an appropriate post. Including practical tips on topics such as finding potential employers and creating a dazzling CV, as well as sensitive advice on assessing when somebody is ready for work, and how, when and where to disclose a disability to an employer, Hawkins' well-tested approach aims to provide all the information needed for a fast, realistic, and successful path to fulfilling employment.
I Am Utterly Unique by
Presents the A-Z of what's great about having Asperger syndrome.
I have Autism... what's that? by
Helps children and young people with autism to discover how they are different from neuro-typical people. This illustrated work explores different approaches to talking, playing and learning, and offers coping strategies.
Living Well on the Spectrum by
Navigating the "neurotypical" world with Asperger syndrome or high-functioning autism (AS/HFA) can be extremely stressful. But by understanding the specific ways your brain works differently--and how to tap into your personal strengths--you can greatly enhance your well-being. In this wise and practical book, experienced therapist Valerie L. Gaus helps you identify goals that will make your life better and take concrete steps to achieve them. Grounded in psychological science, the techniques in this book help you: *Learn the unspoken rules of social situations. *Improve your communication skills. *Get organized at home and at work. *Manage anxiety and depression. *Strengthen your relationships with family and friends. *Live more successfully on your own or with others. A wealth of stories, questionnaires, worksheets, and concrete examples help you find personalized solutions to problems you are likely to encounter. You can download and print additional copies of the worksheets for repeated use. Of special note, the Introduction was updated in 2017 with the latest information on how autism spectrum disorder is defined in DSM-5. Finally, a compassionate, knowledgeable, positive guide to living well on the spectrum. Mental health professionals, see also the author's Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Second Edition.
M Is for Autism by
M. That's what I'd like you to call me please. I'll tell you why later. Welcome to M's world. It's tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to pounce. M just wants to be like other teenagers her age who always know what to say and what to do. So why does it feel like she lives on a different plane of existence to everyone else? Written by the students of Limpsfield Grange, a school for girls with Autism Spectrum Disorder with communication and interaction difficulties, M is for Autism draws on real life experiences to create a heartfelt and humorous novel that captures the highs and lows of being different in a world of normal.
The Neurodiverse Workplace by
Estimates suggest that up to 20% of employees, customers and clients might have a neurodivergent condition - such as dyslexia, autism, Asperger's, ADHD or dyspraxia - yet these individuals often struggle to gain and maintain employment, despite being very capable. This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated. Employer responsibilities are highlighted, including the 2010 Equality Act, and a range of strategies and policies are provided, including recruitment advice and the benefits of neurodiverse employees, along with advice on physical environments, interaction and communication, and working with clients and customers. This book is an ideal resource for all employers wanting to support and empower people with specific needs to help create a more inclusive workplace, benefiting both neurodiverse individuals and the companies employing them.
Questions and feelings about autism by
This book explores the many aspects of Autism in a child-friendly way. It is part of a hands-on series of picture books designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. This book offers practical help, tips and advice an well as exploring everyday situations, supported by, exquisite and approachable illustrations to give a comforting story book feel, particularly suited to 5-7 year olds, but with scope to appeal to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give steps they can take to help them cope.
The reason I jump : one boy's voice from the silence of autism by
"A rare and important insight into the mind of an autistic child, in his own words. Translated by and with a moving introduction from the award-winning author of Cloud atlas, David Mitchell"--Publishers description.
Beyond Autism by
A Passionate Memoir about Life with a Teenage Daughter with Severe Autism, Following the Progress of Acclaimed Book, Finding Lina. Like her passionate first book, Finding Lina, about her daughter with severe autism, Helena Hjalmarsson brings an intensity of purpose and love to her second memoir about Lina, Beyond Autism . Lina's world is one of excruciating challenges. Helena's world is the same, but with her own insights, indominable spirit, and amazing clarity she sheds light and hope for other parents, siblings and caretakers of children with autism, as well as the children with autism themselves. She unflinchingly examines "the paradoxical nature of autism, the never-ending mystery of who our children are and how they got here, in the middle of this unfathomable hurricane of leaky guts, inflammation, yeast, autoimmune disorders, seizures, sensory breakdown, loss of words, physical freedom, sleep, friends, normal life as we are used to refer to it." Beyond Autism is one of an increasing number of "you are not alone" literary statements from parents of children with autism forwarded to the people whose lives, similarly, often blocks the view of the larger community. Beyond Autism is intended to be a meeting place, of sorts. A smile of recognition. A reason for a little dark joke amongst parents. What Helena recognizes is that whenever Lina is not in mayhem, she is in heaven. "In those times she seems so free of the burdens of a past and a future, so deeply present and accepting of the moment ...Whenever she is not suffering, it seems to me that she is at that enlightened, awakened place that most people struggle for a whole life time to catch a glimpse of." It's that glimpse that Helene explores, and shares for all those who want, too, to catch and gain insight into the lives of those with autism and those who love them.
Autobiography on the Spectrum by
Autobiography on the Spectrum challenges prevailing notions about autism by offering a critically unconventional perspective--the viewpoint of adolescents who are themselves on the spectrum. Examining a year-long inquiry, Myers highlights the autobiographical works of the students through writing, photography, poetry, art, and more. She argues that autistic youth are not being accurately depicted in current research, not because they are unable to represent their own experiences but because their experiences are not always valued. In contrast, this book explores how autistic youth can (and do) represent themselves and shows educators how to create a space for the voices of these students. Offering a deep look into a world that is rarely seen, Autobiography on the Spectrum is a critical resource for teacher preparation and professional learning in any field that interacts with individuals with autism or other disabilities. Book Features: Introduces alternative views of autism derived from first-person perspectives. Offers a critical disability focus that is accessible to classroom teachers. Describes how to support adolescents in building their own representations of their lives. Explains how deficit constructions marginalize individuals both in and out of school. Demonstrates that students with autism, when given opportunities and support, display capabilities that often go unnoticed.
Uncomfortable Labels by
"So while the assumption when I was born was that I was or would grow up to be a neurotypical heterosexual boy, that whole idea didn't really pan out long term." In this candid, first-of-its-kind memoir, Laura Kate Dale recounts what life is like growing up as a gay trans woman on the autism spectrum. From struggling with sensory processing, managing socially demanding situations and learning social cues and feminine presentation, through to coming out as trans during an autistic meltdown, Laura draws on her personal experiences from life prior to transition and diagnosis, and moving on to the years of self-discovery, to give a unique insight into the nuances of sexuality, gender and autism, and how they intersect. Charting the ups and downs of being autistic and on the LGBT spectrum with searing honesty and humour, this is an empowering, life-affirming read for anyone who's felt they don't fit in.
A series of video created by NHS Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin to explain what is neurodiversity, strengths and challenges, how to be inclusive and support neurodiverse colleagues and patients.