Skip to Main Content

The Library Catalogue (SWIMS) brings together the catalogues of all the NHS Libraries within the South West. This includes books and eBooks.

You are able to search the Catalogue by clicking on the link below.

You are also able to renew the books that you have out on loan via the Library Catalogue. On your first time logging in we recommend that you activate your account and create a PIN. Instructions on how to do this can be found by clicking the login button located in the top right hand corner on the Library Catalogue.

To login you need the barcode number that is on your Library Card. It starts with U0… and your PIN. If you have lost your Library card or are unsure what your barcode number or registered email is, please contact the library for help.

Once you have logged in you are able to either select the books that you want to renew or renew them all.

Please note that books obtained via Inter-Library Loan cannot be renewed on SWIMS. Please contact the library to have them renewed.

The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners to high quality knowledge and evidence resources in one place.
It includes:

  • Journals, books and databases
  • Clinical decision support resources including NICE Guidelines, BMJ Best Practice and UpToDate
  • Resources purchased nationally and locally
  • One-click links to full-text, request a copy or contact an NHS library.

An OpenAthens account is required to gain full access to this resource.

Register here for an  OpenAthens account. 

The Knowledge and Library Hub is funded by NHS England Workforce, Training and Education. Video introduction below: 

 

 

Our library purchases eBook titles for the Trust. These titles can be discovered in our Knowledge & Library Hub, Library catalogue and through ProQuest Ebook Central electronic book catalogue.

Access and Request and eBook
You have access to the whole catalogue and will have free access to content for five minutes each day. Loan or purchase of an ebook may be possible. If you would like to recommend a title for your team follow the ‘request access’ prompts in the catalogue and library staff will contact you to discuss acquisition.

To access electronic books you will need to have an NHS Open Athens account associated with Somerset FT. If you don't have an account please register here:
 OpenAthens registration.

 Download
Subscribed/loaned titles may also be downloaded to an e-reader. After clicking ‘download’ you will be prompted to choose Laptop/Desktop PC, iOS (iPad, iPhone, iPod), Android or Other. We suggest the following, all of which are available free of charge:

  • For laptop/desktop computers: Adobe Digital Editions. (IT services will need to do this for you if you are using a hospital computer).
  • For iOS devices: Bluefire Reader
  • For Android devices: AIReader

 

Kortext NHS collection is a collection of fiction and non-fiction funded and curated by the NHS.

 

How to use the Royal Marsden Manual; a short video guide

A collection of Oxford Handbooks and Oxford Specialty Handbooks is available. 

Click the person icon (top right) to login. Select Sign in through your institution and then type 'NHS in England'. 

                                                                      

If the book/eBook you are looking for is not in our libraries, you can request the title via our document supply. Please see our document supply page for more information. 

We will decide if the title will be purchased or requested from another library through an inter-library loan process. We will contact you to give an update on your request.

Search in the Knowledge and Library Hub